Write Down Your Vision to Increase Your Chances of Success

This story is to Inspire Someone, Somewhere: WARNING! Read the whole thing and I’m a Christian so there will be references to God. Below is a “manifesto” I wrote my sophomore year in high school at Towers High in Decatur (with its 50% graduation rate at the time). I wrote this to my World History teacher Daniel Johnson as he was my favorite teacher but all 6 of my teachers received a copy that year.(And he proved why he was my favorite by saving and sending me this photo to share 16 years later.)

You will notice it’s a detailed plan of my life from which schools I would attend and what offices I would run for, eventually becoming President of the United States in 2052. (Sn: I no longer want to be President for a variety of reasons.) Notice in my letter to the right that I promised my teachers I would be 3 things: 1. a businesswoman, 2. A lawyer and 3. A politician. And by the grace of God I became all 3 at the age of 27.

So a few things I want every young or older person to take away from this (and this post isn’t to brag about me but to show you that ALL things are possible. Philipians 4:13):

1. Write down your vision and make it plain.(We know without vision, people perish. Proverbs 29:18)

2. God knows your desires. (The plans He had for me aligned with my desires. Jeremiah 29:11)

3. When you do your part, God can do His part which is far more than we can do alone. (I accomplished a lot more at a faster rate than I could have ever imagined. Ephesians 3:20)

4. Everything happens in God’s perfect timing. (If you you haven’t heard the story of HOW I got elected, ask me. It’s a fascinating story about God’s timing. Habbakuk 2:3).

Feel free to share and encourage someone else. I hope this helps someone to keep pushing towards their dreams. #Darshunspeaks #YOLO #PreachersGrandkid

I am Dar’shun Kendrick, the owner of Kendrick Law Practice, LLC, a boutique business law firm in Decatur, GA focused on keeping growing Georgia business owners “IN business and OUT of Court” through Monthly Retainer and Premium Clientservices. We are ONLY authorized to practice law in Georgia and therefore any legal advice in this blog only pertains to Georgia based businesses. I have an M.B.A. (Kennesaw State 2011) and serve in the Georgia House of Representatives since 2011. Additionally, I am adjunct Business Law Professor at Oglethorpe University(Class of 2004) in the Fall of 2014.

Please keep up with me on social media at: Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram,Blogtalkradio, WordPress and Slideshare. REMEMBER we offer FREE 15 minute services only consultations.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

