How I use my LinkedIn Premium account to acquire clients

This is a personal story. I have written many legal and business blogs but this one is personal. It’s a story about how I found my own personal “mojo” to start connecting and finding GREAT leads to business using LinkedIn Premium that I want to share, particularly with attorneys who have almost been taught to practice law very well—-but business develop very poorly and to be overly cautious about asking for business because of our State Bar rules.

I made the decision to become a LinkedIn Premium member about a year ago. As with most marketing investments, I didn’t want to let go of any amount of money even if it was only $24.95 a month. But one of the BIGGEST mistakes any business can make is to STOP investing in marketing because cash flow is slow or dwindling—and I truly believed that so I invested. Over the year, I have seen GREAT returns on investment. (If cash is king, ROI is prince.)

Not only have I acquired several clients from LinkedIn, directly or indirectly, but have made meaningful “LinkedIn relationships” and acquired almost 5,000 followers of my blog and increased followers of myKendrick Law Practice LinkedIn page 200%. I am often asked “How do you market yourself so well” on various social media platforms and it comes down to three (3) main things:

  1. Consistency. I post or update on a consistent basis around the same time or with the same message. I am also consistent is replying back to messages even if the answer is “no”.
  2. Branding. Consistently conveying the SAME message about my Firm across all of my social media platforms.
  3. Relationship Development. It’s not about me or you..it’s about US and finding synergies and needs that can be fulfilled by talking and interacting. This should always be kept in mind.

So what is it that I do in the mornings to use my LinkedIn Premium status to grow my business? (NOTE: I wake up at 4:30 am every morning so adjust your clocks according to your wake up call)

  • First, I post the same “MORNING ROLL CALL” on LinkedIn that has been posted on my InstagramFacebook, and Twitter accounts. Again, this is for consistency and branding purposes. I have developed a following of people over the years that KNOW my morning calls and respond to them and give me credit for my “Morning Roll Calls”.
  • Second, I check “Who’s Viewed My Profile”? LinkedIn Premium has a great feature that allows you to see who’s viewed your profile (although about 30-40% of people hide their profiles so you can’t see who viewed it). This is solid GOLD because it allows me to send a follow up message that says “I see you viewed my profile. Do you have questions?” if they are a connection or “I see you viewed my profile and I would like to learn more about your business” if they are not a connection through the Inmail credits I receive. (Usually you can’t contact someone unless you know them.)
  • Third, I check my follower statistics. LinkedIn Premium allows me to see where and what industry most views my profiles in a visually easy to use pie chart. So I can adjust my marketing messages and posts based on these results.
  • Fourth, I draft and post and share my LinkedIn blog every 2-4 days. I’m not sure if I was chosen because I have a membership. I have a LinkedIn Premium membership but I have received so many new connections and followers with each blog that I have, especially if it has been a “Featured Blog” (See 5 Reasons Why You Need a Business Plan5 Business Lessons My Father Taught Me, or Work Hard, Play Hard: Ways to NOT feel guilty)
  • Fifth, I wonder about all the other features I could use like more results in your search for prospects, viewing full profiles, and contacting prospects based on targeted characteristics. Unfortunately, State bar rules I must follow as an attorney makes these features a little trickier to use.

I hope this was helpful and provides insight to those of you with LinkedIn Premium accounts and those of you thinking about it. As with most things, it takes WORK on your part so just don’t get an account and leave it—-you pay for it! Work and make it work for you!

Attorney Dar’shun Kendrick is the owner of Kendrick Law Practice, LLC, a boutique business law firm in Decatur, GA focused on keeping growing Georgia business owners “IN business and OUT of Court” through Monthly Retainer and Premium Clientservices. She has an M.B.A. as well as serves in the Georgia House of Representatives and is an Adjunct Business Law Professor at Oglethorpe University(Class of 2004) in the Fall of 2014.

You can keep up with her on social media at: TwitterFacebook, LinkedInInstagram,BlogtalkradioWordPress and Slideshare. REMEMBER we offer FREE 15 minute services only consultations.

Leave a comment

Filed under advertising, business, business law, business legal services, business owner, business plan, business services, entrepreneur, entrepreneurship, Georgia, Georgia law, Georgia legal, legal, legal services, LinkedIn, marketing, small business, small business owner, social media, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

